Books she’ll Love this Valentine’s Day + Giveaway!

Valentine’s Day is less than one week away!

Still looking for a thoughtful gift for your someone special this Valentine’s Day? Check out these great new book releases from Harper Collins and give her a book this love day!

1. The Golden Son

The Golden Son is the second novel from the author of bestselling (and fabulous book) Secret Daughter.

The Golden Son

Synopsis:

The Golden Son is the story of a young Indian doctor who leaves his village for a residency in the US. But he grapples with the expectation that as the oldest son, he is expected to inherit the mantle of arbiter for all village disputes. And he finds himself torn between a beautiful American girl and his old childhood friend.

2. A Night In with Audrey Hepburn

A Night In with Audrey Hepburn is a debut novel by Lucy Holliday, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella.

A Night In with Audrey Hepburn

Synopsis:

Unlucky in love, failed actress Libby Lomax has retreated into the world of classic movies, where the immortal lives of the screen goddesses offer so much more in the way of romance than her own life. After a terrible day on the set of a cult TV sci-fi series where she has proved herself to be the antithesis of feminine poise and embarrassed herself in front of heartthrob actor Dillon O’Hara, she plonks herself down in front of her trillionth viewing of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Relaxing on her battered old couch, salvaged from the props department by her best friend Olly, Libby is gob smacked to find actual Screen Icon, Audrey Hepburn, sitting beside her. Dressed in her little black dress, wearing her trademark sunglasses, Audrey proffers advice to the hapless Libby between ladylike puffs on her vintage cigarette holder.
And so, Audrey becomes Libby’s confidante and friend – but has Libby got what it takes to turn her life from a Turkey to a Blockbuster? With a little bit of Audrey Hepburn magic, she might just pull it off…

3. Moonlight Over Paris

Moonlight Over Paris is s beautiful love story set in the World War era.

Moonlight Over Paris

Synopsis:

An aristocratic young woman leaves the sheltered world of London to find adventure, passion, and independence in 1920s Paris in this mesmerizing story from the USA Today and internationally bestselling author of Somewhere in France and After the War is Over.

Read a sample of the book here.

4. Be Frank with Me

Be Frank with Me is a funny fiction debut novel by Julia Claiborne Johnson about a quirky Hollywood mother and son.

Be Frank with Me

Synopsis:

Reclusive literary legend M. M. “Mimi” Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years. But after falling prey to a Bernie Madoff-style ponzi scheme, she’s flat broke. Now Mimi must write a new book for the first time in decades, and to ensure the timely delivery of her manuscript, her New York publisher sends an assistant to monitor her progress. The prickly Mimi reluctantly complies—with a few stipulations: No Ivy-Leaguers or English majors. Must drive, cook, tidy. Computer whiz. Good with kids. Quiet, discreet, sane.

When Alice Whitley arrives at the Banning mansion, she’s put to work right away—as a full-time companion to Frank, the writer’s eccentric nine-year-old, a boy with the wit of Noel Coward, the wardrobe of a 1930s movie star, and very little in common with his fellow fourth-graders.

As she slowly gets to know Frank, Alice becomes consumed with finding out who Frank’s father is, how his gorgeous “piano teacher and itinerant male role model” Xander fits into the Banning family equation—and whether Mimi will ever finish that book.

5. The Memory Painter

The Memory Painter is Gwendolyn Womack’s debut novel about time-crossed lovers. Perfect for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife. 

The Memory Painter

Synopsis:

Bryan Pierce is an internationally famous artist whose paintings have dazzled the world. But there’s a secret to Bryan’s success: every canvas is inspired by an unusually vivid dream. When Bryan awakes, he possesses extraordinary new skills . . . like the ability to speak obscure languages, or an inexplicable genius for chess. All his life, he has wondered if his dreams are recollections —if he is re-experiencing other people’s lives.

Linz Jacobs is a brilliant neurogeneticist, absorbed in decoding genes that help the brain make memories— until she is confronted with an uncanny rendering of a recurring nightmare at one of Bryan’s shows. She tracks down the elusive artist, and their meeting triggers Bryan’s most powerful dream yet: visions of a team of scientists who, on the verge of discovering a cure for Alzheimer’s, died in a lab explosion decades ago.

As Bryan becomes obsessed with the mysterious circumstances surrounding the scientists’ deaths, his dreams begin to reveal what happened at the lab, as well as a deeper mystery that may lead all the way back to ancient Egypt. As Bryan and Linz follow the trail, they slip through a kaleidoscope of lives—from imperial Russia, to feudal Japan, to Newfoundland and aboriginal Australia. A pattern emerges: a great love, a great enemy, and the prospect of a powerful, ancient truth buried deep in the past. But the deadly foe is watching their every move, and he will stop at nothing to ensure that the past stays buried.

All five books highlighted here are available in stores and online now. You can pick them up at Amazon.ca right now.

These novels make great gifts for Valentine’s Day – especially if you pair them with a little chocolate treat!

To learn more about these five titles check out the Harper Collins website. You can also follow Harper Collins on Facebook and Twitter for up to date book information and great giveaways!

Giveaway!

Check out my Facebook page right now to enter to WIN a copy of Moonlight Over Paris.

Giveaway runs from Feb 10 – 14, 2016. Open to Canadian residents only.

20 Comments

  1. I haven’t been reading lately no time between contesting and babysitting there just is no time, but these seem like great books!!

  2. The Audrey one intrigues me as a fan of hers. My absolute favourite saying of hers that I think of all the time is happy girls are the prettiest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *